WoW #2: Olympics edition

Standard

“Waiting On” Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine  that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

Every four years, my inner athlete shines through and I get sucked into the global phenom that is the Summer Olympics. I admit that I watched the entire opening ceremonies and though I found it to be underwhelming (especially when compared to Beijing’s opening), the rings of fire and lighting of the torch was dazzling and spectacular. I also enjoyed the singalong with Paul McCartney at the end, although clearly the audience needs a refresher to the lyrics of “Hey Jude.”

To celebrate the Olympics, I am spotlighting memoirs of various Olympians that I am looking forward to reading.

Solo: A Memoir of Hope by Hope Solo, Ann Killion

Publication Date: Aug. 14, 2012

Publisher: HarperCollins

I am a HUGE Solo fan and cannot wait to read this book. I admire her spunk, humor, and determination. Plus, have you seen how fierce she is when she’s on her A-game?

 

 

 

 

No Limits: The Will to Succeed by Michael Phelps, Alan Abrahamson

Publication Date: Dec. 9, 2008

Publisher: Free Press

Given the Phelps vs Lochte (over)hype during these Games, I almost feel the need to re-read Phelps’s memoir. Written shortly after the 2008 Beijing Games, I highly recommend this book to anyone looking for extra motivation in achieving their goals or want a closer read into the dynamics of a close-knit single parent household.

 

 

Off Balance: A Memoir by Dominique Moceanu, Paul Williams, Teri Williams

Publication Date: June 12, 2012

Publisher: Touchstone
I remember watching Moceanu and the “Magnificent Seven” compete in the 1996 games in Atlanta, and was enthralled – as everyone was – with the tiny firecracker that was Moceanu. I’m even more excited to read this book after the “Fab Five”‘s team gold last night!

 

 

 

What about you? Any particular Olympiad’s story you’d be interested in reading? Do share!

One response »

Leave a Reply

