Review: Risking it All by Jennifer Schmidt

Standard

Risking it All by Jennifer Schmidt

Publication Date: September 13, 2012

Publisher: The Writer’s Coffee Shop

Follow the  author on her blog.

RISKING IT ALL by Jennifer Schmidt was a fast, steamy read. Best friends since college, good girl Kennedy Moore and heartbreaker Memphis Adams are forced to confront their “strictly platonic friendship” when a drunken kiss opens up new possibilities in their relationship. To complicate the situation even further, Kennedy takes up Memphis’s invitation to accompany him to Alaska for a work-related project taking professional photographs of a new resort, leaving Kenney’s much older boyfriend at home.

Given that RISKING IT ALL is an erotica novel, I expected plenty of hot scenes and boy, did Schmidt deliver! Schimdt did a wonderful job in building up the sexual tension between Memphis and Kennedy. With erotica, I feel that balancing the romance with sex is a tricky task, and oftentimes the romance is sacrificed in favor of the sex. Not with RISKING IT ALL, though. I fell in love with Memphis and Kennedy’s relationship. And when they did manage to do the deed? Holy smokes, were they ever hot! My favorite scene was definitely the intimate photography session between them. It was such a perfect mix of love and desire.

Memphis reminded me a lot of Kellan Kyle from S.C. Stephens’s THOUGHTLESS trilogy. I admit that I’m a sucker for artistic, protective, vulnerable men. Kennedy Moore, on the other hand, frustrated and annoyed me. Because this was in third person POV, I had a harder time empathizing with Kennedy’s decision-making process. I also wish that her back story with her boyfriend Ian Brooks was expanded, particularly the difficulties they endured at the beginning of their relationship. The pacing was great for the first two-thirds of the novel then things started to resolve too quickly for my taste. I would have liked to have a more drawn out resolution, but that’s just me. Overall, an enjoyable read.

Overall: 3 out of 5 stars

2 responses »

  1. As an author, I appreciate your comments about the flow and the pace picking up too quickly towards the end. I’m afraid that we tend to want to get a book finished sometimes and it shows to the reader. I know that I am guilty of this in the past as well. I’m going to try to be more aware of this in my future writings.

  2. Glad you stumbled onto my site! I always enjoy hearing the author’s perspective when it comes to the writing process. Depending on how the book evolves, I tend to overlook weirdness in pacing if the characters and overall story draw me in. But that may be because I’m more drawn to character-driven stories. Happy writing (and reading)!

Leave a Reply

