Change of Venue

Standard

  

I only had one day off this week, so I wanted to make it count, cloudy day or not. After trekking to the beach, I plopped down on the sand and proceeded to even out my tan – and make good use of my Kindle.  The tanning didn’t work so well given Mr. Sunshine was hiding most of the day, but I thoroughly enjoyed listening to the waves crash on the shore, watching the surfers go at it, and smelling the fresh saltiness of the ocean.

I’ve been on a YA binge recently, so today I decided to switch it up and try FIFTY SHADES OF GREY by E.L. James.  Yeah, I decided to see for myself what all the hoopla was all about.

If you’ve been living under a rock and haven’t heard of the FIFTY SHADES trilogy, this erotica is about college student Anastasia Steele and entrepreneur Christian Grey. Steele is assigned to interview Grey for her college newspaper, and when they meet, sparks fuel between them, and a hot affair begins. Not my first foray into erotica, but also not a huge fan of the sub/dom sub-genre, so we’ll see how it goes.

Initial Thoughts

I only made it through the first three chapters before I got distracted by the surfers (wink), but Christian Grey, our hero, was intriguing in that mysterious-sexy-bad-boy vibe that I love. However, Anastasia Steele, our heroine and POV, didn’t impress me so much. She doesn’t seem as fleshed out to me (yet), and the dialogue’s a bit on the stiff and formal side, but my goal is to finish this book.

Full review to come.

Leave a Reply

