Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns) by Mindy Kaling

Standard

The Office Writer/Producer/Director/Actress Mindy Kaling had me cracking up and nodding my head in agreement throughout the entire book. IS EVERYONE HANGING OUT WITHOUT ME? reminded me a bit of Tina Fey’s BOSSYPANTS in that well-respected, funny, “good girl” comedians demonstrate that yes, it is possible to have a vagina, go to a reputable university, not sleep around, appreciate your family, and still make it big in mainstream comedy. Props to you, Kaling.

Kaling’s book is a humorous conglomerate of childhood stories, essays, and loose guidelines of being a good person and friend. The chapter “Best Friends Rights and Responsibilities” had me cracking up, then texting my BFFs certain rules verbatim. While I was reading this book, I felt as if I was listening to one of my own girlfriends vent and joke about her daily adventures. When I got to the end, I felt as if I was saying goodbye to a dear friend. That, to me, is how I know when a book is good.

Overall: 5 out of 5 stars

Leave a Reply

