RIP Brian Jacques

Standard

MARTIN THE WARRIOR was the first Jacques book I read. I was 11 or 12 years old, and my brother gave this book to me for Christmas one year. I wasn’t pleased, as Jacques’s book conflicted with my BABY-SITTERS CLUB and SWEET VALLEY HIGH books. A book about animals? Living in an abbey? Is that like a church?

Clearly I hadn’t read WATERSHIP DOWN yet.

But it was a book,  and so I read it. And I fell in love. I devoured the rest of the series, but unfortunately stopped reading them once I got to college.

I was at B&N today, and I saw that there was a shelf full of the REDWALL series in honor of Jacques. I picked one of them up, and fell right into the world of Redwall, Mossflower, and its unique language.

LEGEND OF LUKE is now on hold for me at the public library. I’ve neglected this blog since coming back from vacation, but I think I’m ready to start back up again.

Leave a Reply

